I might have a problem. Not sure if I should consider it a serious one, or I’m sitting in some sort of creative bubble for now. I’m making protein bars at home and testing ingredients to determine what’s good and what’s not so good.

I’ll just jump right to it.

Ingredients:

2 scoops of vegan protein powder (I used vanilla, but chocolate works too)

1 cup of peanut butter

1 tablespoon raw honey (add more if you want some sweetness)

2/3 cup almond milk

2 tablespoons coconut flour

2 cups instant oats

Instruction Manual:

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit.

In a small pot over low heat on a stove, combine protein powder, peanut butter, honey, and milk and mix until smooth. Keep the temperature low only to keep mixture warm. Do not cook the mixture.

Add coconut flour and half of the oats and mix well. Add the remaining half of the oats and give it a good mix.

Mixture should be stiff and almost crumbly. If it is too wet then add a little bit of coconut flour (tiny amounts like one teaspoon at a time) or add more oats. If the mixture is too dry, add more milk.

Remove from stove and transfer mixture into a baking pan or sheet. Spread and flatten.

Bake in oven for 15 minutes. This slightly binds the dough together. Baking too long can lead to the protein denaturing and becoming rubbery like a hard-boiled egg.

Allow for the pan to cool and then cut the cake into bars. Wrap the bars in cellophane and store in the fridge.

Thoughts and Ideas:

These bars taste pretty good. Not too sweet. I like the texture of these bars, the oats do give it a nice weight to it.

What I find missing is perhaps some chewiness and sporadic sweetness like if I were to add some dried fruits. A nice bit of crunch could make these bars perfect by adding nuts and seeds. But if I were to do that I’d find myself with a stomach ache after eating the whole batch in one sitting!!! It is very possible!

I like making stuff with my protein powders because it extends the number of “doses” I can get out of one bottle. I only share the recipes that turn out good. I’ve had a bad recipe before and I ended up tossing the whole thing out, including 4 cups, not scoops, of protein powder out. But not this recipe!

Give this one a try and add or take away from it. I can honestly say to you that this is pretty darn good.

